top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturecelestite poetry

6 Months on a Screen - Lauren Curr

Today I had my first therapy appointment face-to-face. I’ve been seeing a therapist since January and for the first time in my life and long list of past therapists, she’s a great match for me. She understands every significant part of my life, from being queer to being disabled, and that’s so important – I don’t know how I was meant to heal with past therapists when they didn’t understand such core parts of my being.


Meeting in person gave me some intense anxiety; the last face-to-face session I had was with said therapists, so it’s safe to say I don’t find glory in those experiences; I also haven’t seen anyone outside of my family in person for quite some time, so the idea of social interaction in person felt new to me – I’m usually quite extroverted (though anxious) but it’s safe to say that lockdown has meant my confidence has taken a bit of a hit; I was anxious about… being me. My therapist has only ever seen my head so the idea of seeing me as a whole made me feel rather vulnerable and I didn’t quite know how to process that.


But…everything was okay. I was me and that was enough. I got to the appointment and I didn’t feel awkward; the conversation flowed as it did behind the screen and even my bold hand gestures and inability to look someone in the eye for more than a split second didn’t have me overthinking, it just was a part of the social dynamic.


I guess this is a little reminder that things will be okay. We’re all dreading social contact and I wanted to speak of my own positive experience. There is hope. And remember: It’s okay to set boundaries in social situations, be that mask etiquette or your needs on making sure you are mentally coping okay throughout the experience.


-


Lauren Curr is a 22 year old disabled and queer writer from Surrey, England, where they attend Royal Holloway, University of London to study English Literature and Philosophy. They identify as a non-binary lesbian and use they/them pronouns. They predominantly write poetry and pieces of political activism and run the Instagram account @holaurgraphic to do so. They are also active on twitter with the account @celestialaur.

49 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Relapse - Lauren Curr

TW: alcoholism I recently started watching Grey’s Anatomy and to say I whizzed through it is a bit of an understatement; it’s my current hyperfixation (as I am neurodivergent) and I quite literally am

Rejection of Allyship Fatigue - Sagal Mahamud

The revolution will not be televised. We cannot capture the raw passion and frustrations from which revolutions are born on film. Similarly, we cannot adequately express these sentiments on social med

bottom of page